This class is taught by O.S.B.I. (Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation) approved and NRA certified Concealed Carry instructors. The course is as prescribed by the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act to meet the educational requirements to qualify you for an Oklahoma Handgun (Concealed Carry) permit. Eligibility requirements and other details below class dates. Get the full list of Class Dates HERE. If you have a question send it to firstname.lastname@example.org
- Thursday & Friday December 19th & 20th
- Thursday & Friday January 16th & 17th 2014
- Thursday & Friday February 13th & 14th 2014
» Upcoming 1 Day Classes at the Red Castle Indoor Range. Members = $50 ~ Non-members = $60 ~ 8-hour class
- Saturday, December 14th
- Sunday, December 29th
- Sunday, January 19th 2014
- Sunday, February 16th 2014
» Upcoming 1 day Classes at the Red Castle Zink Ranch Outdoor Range. Members = $40 ~ Non-members = $50 ~ 8-hour class
- Thursday, December 26th
- Saturday, January 4th 2014
- Saturday, February 1st 2014
- Saturday, March 1st 2014
All Outdoor Range classes will be held rain or shine at the clubhouse at Zink Ranch
All classes must be reserved before the date of the class you are taking.
This class is taught by O.S.B.I. (Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation) approved and C.L.E.E.T. (Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training), and NRA certified Concealed Carry instructors. The course is as prescribed by the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act (Title 21, Oklahoma Statutes, Section 1290.1 et seg.) to meet the educational requirements to qualify for an Oklahoma Handgun License.
- You must be a United States Citizen and have a Oklahoma Drivers License or Oklahoma State ID (this will constitute proof of current legal residency in the state of Oklahoma).
- Be at least 21 years of age. (Note: You may take the course before age 21, but may not submit an application before age 21).
- Complete an approved training course administered by an approved instructor and make proper application or provide proof of exemption.
- Course live firing must be done with approved weapon of caliber between .22 and .45. (Note: To qualify to carry a semi-automatic, you must shoot the live fire portion with a semi-automatic pistol.)
The Oklahoma Handgun License Class covers training on Oklahoma Law, Deadly Force issues, Safety, Shooting Fundamentals, Handgun Operation, Ammunition, and a 50-round course of fire. It is taught in the Tulsa area, and contains an abbreviated “basic” class for handguns with an emphasis on Safety. A 15-question test is given in which you must get 11 correct to receive your certificate. The certificate you receive by passing this class can then be submitted with your concealed carry license application to the Sheriff’s Office of the County in which you live.
All Outdoor Range classes will be held, rain or shine, at the main clubhouse on the Zink Ranch. The live fire portion of the class will be done on the club outdoor pistol range. Dress appropriately for outside conditions on the day of the class.
Important Information you must read before attending class:
Handgun: The handgun cannot be greater than .45 caliber. The gun must be in good (safe) working condition. If you bring and shoot a revolver in the shooting exercise, you will only be licensed to carry a revolver. If you shoot a semi-automatic pistol in the shooting exercise, you can carry either one, revolver or semi-automatic pistol.
Ammunition: Bring fifty (50) rounds of factory ammunition for the caliber of gun you will be shooting. Make sure that the ammunition is suited for the gun you are bringing.
- NO RELOADED AMMO – COMMERCIAL OR OTHERWISE
- NO +P, ++P, +P+ or MAGNUM LOADS OF ANY KIND
Eye protection: It is the responsibility of the student to bring eye protection. “Eye protection must be designed specifically for shooting, or be of safety glass.”
Ear protection: It is the responsibility of the student to bring ear protection. “Ear (hearing) protection may be the standard shooting earmuffs, or the foam, rubber, or plastic plugs. Spent ammunition casings are not acceptable as hearing protection.”
Headgear: It is the responsibility of the student to bring a brimmed hat. A baseball or Golf type hat is fine, but any hat with a three inch brim will do. The brim of a hat may afford another layer of protection to the face from falling objects.
State ID: Driver’s License or State Identification Card
Regarding the Exam:
Students will take a fifteen (15) question multiple-choice Safety Examination. The examination will cover only firearms safety. The material will be well covered in the course.
Students must correctly answer eleven (11) of the fifteen (15) questions to pass the examination (70%). If they do not pass the examination they will be asked to leave before the examination is reviewed. Students failing the examination must re-enroll in another self-defense firearms course, they may not continue. (Per the Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training)